By July 31, 2013Blog

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 1.51.47 PM

 Click To Tweet: @Iyanya takes over this week’s #OfficialNaijaChart as @SpecialSlim hosts him as special guest.

Iyanya is at the top of this week’s MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 charts powered by Star Music.  The “Sexy Mama” singer and Project Fame winner displaces Wande Coal who drops one place to number 2 after two weeks atop the chart with “The Kick”, featuring Don Jazzy and directed by Sesan.

Iyanya joins VJ Ehis (@SpecialSlim) in the studio this week as special guest to talk about music, money and more on the Official Naija Top 10.

There are two new entries on the Official Naija Top 10 this week: Burna Boy’s “Run My Race” (number 9) and 2Face’s “Rainbow”, which enters the chart at number 10 in the same week that “Dance Floor” makes its exit. Also dropping out of the chart this week is WizKid’s “Azonto” after an impressive 9 weeks in the chart.

This week’s highest climbers are D’BanjPSquare and Chidinma who each jump two places – D’Banj to number 7, P Square to number 4 and Chidinma to number 8 with “E Mi Ni Baller”.

This week’s Official Naija Top 10 premiered on MTV Base on NTA on Friday 26 July, and can be seen on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322on Tuesday 30 July @22.00 WAT, on AIT on Tuesday 30 July @ 21.30 WAT, and on STV  on Thursday 1 August @ 18.00 WAT.  Next week’s chart will be revealed on Friday 2 August onNTA @ 23.30 WAT.

Every week, the Official Naija Top 10 powered by Star Music is put together by an elite panel of judges comprising Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers, working with MTV Base to pick the winners and losers in the week’s chart. On the panel are Onos Ovueraye (Bella Naija.com)DJ Humility (Rhythm FM), DJ Jimmy JattDJ Xclusive (Cool FM)Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise(The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today).

The MTV Base Official Naija Top 10: 26 July – 2 August 2013:

1          Iyanya – Sexy Mama

2          Wande Coal – The Kick

3          D’Prince – Goody Bag

4          PSquare – Personally

5          Ice Prince – VIP

6          Flavour – Chinny Baby

7          D’banj – Don’t Tell Me Nonsense

8          Chidinma – E Mi Ni Baller

9          Burna Boy – Run My Race

10        2Face – Rainbow

The “MTV Base Official Naija Top Ten” is an original MTV Base production and is powered by Star Music.

For further information about the MTV Base Official Naija Top Ten powered by Star Music go to www.mtvbase.com, “like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/MTVBaseVerified or follow us on Twitter @MTVBaseAfrica, using the hashtag#OfficialNaijaChart.

Leave a Reply